College Admission Essay- From the Heart.

There are some common mistakes made by college applicants when writing their college admission essays. As a former recruiter for Yale University, I remember the reactions from admissions officers as they read one essay versus another. I would say that there are six mistakes that are the most common and potentially the most deadly to college applicants submitting their college admission essays. One mistake in some college admission essays is: not writing from the heart.

A little sincerity goes a long way- a lot goes even further. I realize that sometimes putting yourself out there can be scary and that saying what you want people to say can seem like a safer route to go. However, I have found that even though fewer people may appreciate what you have to say, the ones who do, will truly appreciate, and more importantly, identify with your candor and sincerity. In fact, sometimes I am surprised at the things that people remember about me from presentations or articles I have written, but it usually is something I just stated as an aside.

I know that one Oscar nominee, whom I interviewed when I was a journalist would agree.  After years of trying to “play the game”, he finally wrote a film that touched very close to his home and the hearts of the nominating committee. As a result, his film, “El Hijo de la Novia”, was nominated for an Academy Award for best foreign film in 2001.

Unfortunately, this is not the only mistake made by college applicants when writing their college admission essays or on college applications as they go through the college admission process. To help those who are serious about getting into an Ivy League college or other top college, I outline insider information, based on my experience as a recruiter and alumni interviewer for Yale University. My recommendations, tips, and insight are available at http://www.collegeadmissionstips.com as part of the Keys to the CASTLE program. If you want to increase the odds of getting into a top college or your child getting into an Ivy League college, then you need to immediately go to http://www.collegeadmissionstips.com. Everyday that goes by that you don’t access this information, the odds of getting in decreases. High school graduation is right around the corner, don’t you want your child to have big plans for the following fall.

Published in: on February 27, 2010 at 12:03 PM  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://collegeadmissionstips.wordpress.com/2010/02/27/college-admission-essay-from-the-heart/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment